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INSIDE

601 57th St., SE

Suite 2

Charleston, West Virginia

25304-2345

PEIA TELEPHONE HOURS

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Visit PEIA anytime online at
www.wvpeia.com

or call PEIA toll-free at
1-888-680-7342

Healthy Tomorrows – 
Report Your Numbers!

PEIA is moving into Phase Two of the Healthy Tomorrows program.  All 
PEIA PPB plan policyholders are required to participate in the Healthy 
Tomorrows program or face an additional $500 penalty deductible each 
plan year.  

For Phase Two, by May 15, 2016, PEIA PPB Plan policyholders must:

1.	 Have a Primary Care Provider {PCP, Medical Home Provider (MHP) 
or Comprehensive Care Provider (CCP)} named (If you named one last 
year, you have already met this requirement); and

2.	 Report biometric data collected between April 1, 2015, and May 15, 
2016, to PEIA on the Healthy Tomorrows reporting form.  In mid-
March, PEIA will mail personalized Healthy Tomorrows reporting 
forms to all PEIA PPB Plan members who have not yet submitted a 
form.  The form requires a physician’s signature, and all fields (Blood 
Pressure, Total Cholesterol, Waist Circumference and Glucose) must be 
complete to be accepted.  

Completed forms must be returned to PEIA no later than May 15, 
2016, to avoid the deductible penalty for Plan Year 2017.

Phase Three of the Healthy Tomorrows program begins on April 1, 2016.  
Between April 1, 2016 and May 15, 2017, PEIA PPB Plan policyholders 
must get their biometric numbers into the acceptable range or face the $500 
penalty deductible for Plan Year 2018.  For Phase Three, the PEIA PPB Plan 
policyholder must:

1.	 Have a Primary Care Provider named (if you named one last year, you 
have already met this requirement) and

2.	 Report biometric data collected between April 1, 2016, and May 15, 
2017, to PEIA on the Healthy Tomorrows reporting form.  
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Open Enrollment 
Benefit Fairs 

Plans for Open Enrollment are moving along!  Open Enrollment will 
be April 2 to May 15, 2016.  We’ve booked the benefit fairs, and the 
dates and locations are as follows:

Date & Time City Location and Address

4/12/16 
3 – 7 p.m.

Martinsburg Holiday Inn
301 Foxcroft Avenue

4/13/16 
3 – 7 p.m.

Morgantown Ramada Inn
20 Scott Avenue

4/14/16 
3 – 7 p.m.

Wheeling WV Northern Community College
B&O Building Auditorium
Market Street

4/19/16 
3 – 6 p.m.

Charleston Holiday Inn Express Civic Center 
100 Civic Center Dr.

4/20/16 
3 – 7 p.m.

Huntington Big Sandy Superstore Arena
One Civic Center Plaza

4/21/16 
3 – 7 p.m.

Beckley Tamarack
One Tamarack Park

4/26/16 
3 – 7 p.m.

Parkersburg Comfort Suites of Parkersburg
167 Elizabeth Pike
Mineral Wells

Benefit fairs offer you the opportunity to speak with 
representatives from PEIA, the Health Plan, Minnesota Life, 
Humana and CVS Health.  Bring your questions and get answers!  
Hope to see you there.

New 
Pharmacy 
Benefits 
Manager 
After an intensive search, PEIA 
has awarded its Pharmacy Benefits 
Management contract to CVS 
Health.  Express Scripts will 
continue to provide services 
through June 30, 2016.  CVS 
Health will begin processing 
pharmacy claims on July 1, 2016.  

The change will bring a new 
preferred drug list, so affected 
policyholders will receive letters 
explaining changes and their 
alternatives.  All PEIA PPB Plan 
members will receive new ID 
cards, too.  

You will get much more 
information about the change 
during Open Enrollment, 
and as the new plan year 
approaches.  CVS Health will 
have representatives at all of the 
Open Enrollment Benefit Fairs, 
so if you have questions, mark 
your calendar and plan to attend a 
benefit fair near you.  
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Continuing Eligibility Audits

In our continuing efforts to assure that PEIA is 
providing benefits only for those who are qualified to be 
members of the plan, PEIA has identified two situations 
in which members are using PEIA benefits in violation 
of PEIA eligibility rules:  

1.	 Divorced spouses remaining on PEIA coverage after 
the end of the month in which the divorce becomes 
final; and

2.	 Surviving dependents who remarry, but don’t 
terminate PEIA coverage.  

PEIA is working through county divorce records 
and identifying PEIA members who have divorced, 
but who have not reported the divorce to PEIA and 
have kept their ineligible ex-spouses on their PEIA 
coverage.  Keeping an ex-spouse on the PEIA coverage 
is a violation of PEIA’s rules and state law, since the 
state Code specifically allows for coverage of the “legal 
spouse.”  Once a divorce has occurred, there is no longer 
a legal spousal relationship.  

We are also investigating surviving spouses who have 
remarried, but have not reported the new marriage, and 
have continued PEIA coverage in violation of PEIA’s 
eligibility rules.  PEIA’s eligibility rules specifically state 
that when a surviving spouse remarries, they are no 
longer eligible for PEIA benefits as a surviving spouse.  

PEIA has identified and is pursuing more than 200 of these 
cases.  The details have been turned over to the Office of 
the Insurance Commissioner for further investigation.  

PEIA will pursue reimbursement of any claims paid 
on the ex-spouses and ineligible surviving dependents.  
Policyholders will also be responsible for reimbursing 
the employer for the difference between the single and 
family employer portion of the premium.  

Remember, if you get divorced, you MUST remove 
your ex-spouse at the end of the month in which the 
divorce becomes final, even if the court requires you 
to continue to provide coverage for your ex-spouse.  If 
you have PEIA coverage as a surviving dependent and 
you remarry, you must report the marriage to PEIA and 
terminate your coverage as a surviving dependent.

Reporting under the 
Affordable Care Act

The Affordable Care Act requires all employers and 
health insurers to report each January who had health 
insurance under their plans for the preceding calendar 
year.  The first of those reports will happen this year, but 
the reporting deadline has been delayed by 60 days to 
allow insurers and employers a bit more time.  Between 
now and March 31, 2016, you will receive a 1095 
form from your employer, PEIA or the Health Plan, 
if you have health coverage through PEIA.  Humana 
members will receive a 1095 from CMS – the Center 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

The reporting packet contains your 1095 form – 
either a 1095-B or a 1095-C, depending on who your 
employer is – along with a cover memo, and instructions 
for the 1095 form.  PEIA will be reporting this same 
information to the IRS, as required by the Affordable 
Care Act.  

The form is to be retained with your tax records to 
prove that you had health coverage during 2015.  If you 
had coverage in more than one plan or with more than 
one employer during 2015, you will receive multiple 
1095 forms.  Just retain them all with your tax records.  
You do not need a 1095 form to file your taxes.  

If you do not receive your 1095, contact PEIA at 
1-877-676-5573.
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3.	 Have biometric numbers within 
the acceptable ranges.  The 
measures and their acceptable 
ranges are:

a)	 Blood Pressure less than or 
equal to 140/90

b)	 Total Cholesterol less than 245

c)	 Blood Glucose less than or 
equal to 125

Waist Circumference must be 
reported, but will not be considered 
when assessing the penalty 
deductible.  

If the policyholder cannot reach 
the acceptable range for the 
biometric measures, a primary 

care provider may complete the 
certification on the reporting form 
stating that, and the policyholder 
will not be charged the penalty.  

The Phase Three reporting form will 
be printed in the Plan Year 2017 
Shopper’s Guide and Summary Plan 
Descriptions, and will be available 
for download on the PEIA website 
starting April 2, 2016. 

The Healthy Tomorrows 
requirements apply ONLY to the 
policyholder, NOT to spouses or 
dependent children.  Please DO 
NOT submit Healthy Tomorrows 
reporting forms for spouses or 
dependent children.  

Healthy Tomorrows ... continued from page 1


